PDA

View Full Version : Tune Up and Header install

Blown5pnt4
06-01-2011, 10:43 PM
With my stuff ordered I figured I'd post up. This is my first time doing anything really to my ZJ so I'd like to know what I'm getting into before I tear it apart. Is there anything in particular to watch out for or make sure I dont screw up ? lol I'll be installing,

New plugs (what should I gap these to ?)
Wires
Cap and rotor
MSD coil

I'll also be installing a header on the truck, from what I've heard I have to remove the intake manifold to do this job. Is there anything to watch out for or tips when it comes to tackling this ? Planning on getting it all running, and then driving to the muffler shop down the road from my house open header to get the rest of the system welded up. (should be interesting lol)

Any tips, tricks, advice or reccomendations on needed non-common tools needed, is welcome and appreciated. Thanks

Tat2dfreak
06-01-2011, 11:04 PM
Watch those MSD coils, i had one for a little over a year and it crapped out and have read a lot of bad things about them since.

Some people have removed the exhaust mainifold with out taking the intake off but it to me its easier to take the intake off and you get to clean everything that way.

Goonies.nsd
06-01-2011, 11:16 PM